facebook twitter flickr you tube pinterest
 
Academics

Service Dogs

Service Dogs

The ADA defines a service animal as "a dog that has been individually trained to do work or perform tasks for an individual with a disability.  The task(s) performed by the dog must be directly related to the person's disability."

The handler is responsible for maintaining control of the animal and for caring for and supervising the service animal, which includes toileting, feeding, and grooming and veterinary care. Covered entities are not obligated to supervise or otherwise care for a service animal. 

Service animals are not required to be certified or registered, however university vaccination requirements are enforced for service dogs in the residence halls. Please contact Tracy Benner, the Residence Life director, at TBenner@otterbein.edu or (614) 823-1250.

Students may choose to voluntarily register their service animal with Disability Services to assist with advocacy and emergency evacuation. Please contact Kera Manley, the Disability Services Coordinator for more information at KManley@otterbein.edu or (614) 823-1618. 

For additional information, please visit the U.S. Department of Justice Civil Rights Division Disability Rights Section website for Frequently Asked Questions about Services Animals and the ADA

/ Academic Support Center

Courtright Memorial Library, 2nd Floor

 

Office Hours
M- F:  8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

Phone
p / 614.823.1610
f / 614.823.1983

Staff
Kristy Drobney
Director
Library, Room #225
614-823-1362
kdrobney@otterbein.edu

Beth Derringer
Math Support Services Coordinator
Library, Room #215
614.823.1823
bderringer@otterbein.edu

Beth Domanik
Administrative Assistant
Library, Room #229
614-823-1610
edomanik@otterbein.edu 

Regina Kengla
Writing Services & SI Coordinator
Library, Room #226
614-823-1883
rkengla@otterbein.edu


Kera McClain Manley
Assistant Director, Disability Services
Library, Room #228
614-823-1618
Kmanley@otterbein.edu

Sara Banaie
Testing/Alt Media Coordinator
Library, Room #203
614.823.1264
banaie1@otterbein.edu